Pipe Dreams Reviews

Pipe Dreams Reviews

It’s the perfect time of year for hockey romance! Katie and I both love this series and Sarina Bowen is one of our favorite hockey romance writers. Pipe Dreams came out last month and Katie got to it right away, but I just finished it recently. Our reviews and the blurb are below!pipe dreams

BLURB:

A goalie has to trust his instincts, even when taking a shot to the heart…


Mike Beacon is a champion at defending the net, but off the ice, he’s not so lucky. A widower and a single father, he’s never forgotten Lauren Williams, the ex who gave him the best year of his life. When Lauren reappears in the Bruisers office during the playoffs, Beacon sees his chance to make things right.

Lauren hates that she’s forced to travel with the team she used to work for and the man who broke her heart. There’s still undeniable sexual tension running between her and Mike, but she won’t go down that road again. She’s focused on her plans for the future—she doesn’t need a man to make her dreams of motherhood come true.

Lauren plays her best defensive game, but she’s no match for the dark-eyed goalie. When the field of play moves to Florida, things heat up on the beach.

One of Mike’s biggest fans doesn’t approve—his teenage daughter. But a true competitor knows not to waste the perfect shot at love.

katie's review4 Stars

I wasn’t the biggest fan of Lauren before Pipe Dreams so I knew it would take a little bit for her to grow on me, and she did. Things started clicking into place once we got to know more about her and her past. She’s gone through some stuff that made her lose herself and make her not the nicest person to be around. Mike had his reasons for what he did. I get why he did what he did, but the way he did it was a bit cold hearted. I still love him though. He’s hilarious, sweet, talented, and a great dad to Elsa. I really liked his perspectives, they were always entertaining. He’s a great guy, he just made a bad decision that screwed some things up. I wasn’t super nuts with the way we learned about their past. I would have liked some more past chapters and had that part “wrapped up” sooner. My main issue about the main characters having a history is usually always that it’s dragged out. I don’t like not knowing things or understanding how they got to the point they are now. Mike and Lauren’s history was explained decently well and it didn’t take too long to find it all out, but maybe just a little too stretched out for my taste. I liked the book more once I knew their history and they moved on from there and started to rekindle their relationship. I also felt a little jipped by the ending. It happened fast and was a bit short. There was one thing for sure that was left out that I would have liked to know. One thing I love about this series is how much hockey is in it. It isn’t just a background story, it’s a continuous and main storyline throughout the book. I was really happy to see Silas again, I always really liked him. I also really liked the continuance of the Nate and Becca storyline. I really enjoyed this book despite all my character history issues. I’m hoping this series will continue for a while =)

 

amanda's review

 4☆

I love the Brooklyn Bruisers hockey world. These are some of my favorite true hockey books. I enjoyed learning the history of Mike and Lauren. There weren’t a lot of flashbacks or dwelling, it was explained nicely without breaking the flow of the story. I really liked the storyline of their relationship through out the whole book. I really enjoyed Mike. He is so sweet and I loved reading about him trying to navigate parenthood. I didn’t know what we would get from Lauren, I wasn’t nuts abouy her before, but I figured there was a reason for it. I enjoyed her, not as much as Mike however. I really liked the whole book and I really hope there will be more to this series!

Pipe Dreams on Amazon

Pipe Dreams on Goodreads

Leave a Reply

