Book Events

Lets talk book events!!!

I have been to BookCon and a couple of book signings at libraries and bookstores.  Next year my friends and I are hoping to attend Apollycon.

I had so much fun at BookCon!  I loved going with my friends, meeting other book lovers, and of course being able to meet some of my favorite authors!

I want to have more opportunities to meet other authors that I love, but there isn’t a whole lot going on here in Milwaukee.

What book events have you attended before? My friends went to yallfest.  Sadly I was not able to go with them.  I was in Jamaica.  My friends also went to an event in Chicago, but I was in a craft fair.

Where do you look for book events? I look at author websites, publisher websites, just type book signings in the search engine, etc.  Is there a special website you like to go to?

When you go to a book event, what do you always have with you?  Books to get signed of course!  Those are on the top of my list.  I also made sure I had a charged phone if I was able to get a picture with the author.  Do you ever write notes or make pictures for your favorite authors?

What have been some of your favorite book event moments?  My top moment was meeting Cassandra Clare!  She is one of my absolute favorite authors and I was so excited that I got the chance to meet her!  She was so nice to talk to and she noticed the mortal instrument shirt I made and the necklace I was wearing.  There were some things I would have done differently.  I packed my day with trying to meet as many ‘wristband authors’ that I could, but then I didn’t have any time to look at any of the booths.  I saw that people had a lot of cool swag, but I was standing in line for the majority of the day.  I wish BookCon could have been two days-I attended the one in Chicago.

Any other advice you have? What do you like/dislike about book events/signings? Let’s talk about it 🙂

Leave a Reply

