The Good, The Bad, The Ugly: My 2016 Wrap Up

Well, 2016 has been quite the year: book wise and life wise.

Life wise, I had so many things happen to me this year that I am ready to sweep 2016 under the rug!  The good is that I have amazing parents who helped and are helping with certain things, good friends that have helped me out, I got a kitten, and I took a trip to Jamaica that I won!

Book wise, I had a goal to read 100 books this year.  I knew it was a stretch when I made it, but I was really hoping I could have done it.  Currently I sit at 49.  I work at a school and the whole building, staff included, have to read Granny Torrelli Makes Soup by Sharon Creech, so I’ll end the year with that to make it 50.  I was hoping to at least read more than last year which was 66, but I still consider this a win since 2 years ago my list was at zero.

I was scrolling through Instagram and I kept seeing users top reads pop up which got me to thinking, what were some of my favorite reads this year?

Some books that I wasn’t too fond of were Maybe Someday, Crown of Midnight, and The Last Star.

I love Colleen Hoover’s books.  She is one of my favorite authors and I usually end up crying while reading her books.  Then it happened, I read a CoHo book I didn’t like: Maybe Someday.  The book revolves around cheating and I can’t stand cheaters! Now if you ask my friends who write this blog with me, they love it and I believe it is their favorite CoHo book. We had quite the discussion on the book and have very different opinions.  No matter what I’ll still keep reading Ms. Hoover’s books and I hope I can meet her one day!

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J Maas was also a book I didn’t really care for.  If you are not familiar, it is book two of the Throne of Glass series.  To be honest, I don’t really care for the series until book four.  Again, my friends love this series.  The second book I felt like was just all about the love triangle and nothing else and that was boring to me.  I prefer Sarah’s A Court of Thorns and Roses series.  Team Rhys anybody?

The Last Star by Rick Yancey.  An interesting wrap up to the series.  I enjoyed The Fifth Wave, but definitely did not like how the series wrapped up.  I felt like it wasn’t an end, that a lot more could be said.

Some books that I loved this year were Since You’ve Been Gone, some books from the Selection series, and Harry Potter and the Cursed Child.

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson was a fun read.  A girl’s best friend just ups and leaves without saying good-bye, but she does leave a note.  The girl has a list of tasks to complete during the summer.  I enjoyed reading how the tasks were completed and the girl’s journey of becoming her own person and not always depending on her friend.

The Selection series by Kiera Cass is also a fun one.  The second and third books I enjoyed.  The series is about a girl who is in a competition for the crown who didn’t want to be in the competition in the first place.  I really enjoy the characters-they made the books for me.  America stands up for what she believes in and stays true to herself which means a lot.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, need I say more?  This seemed to be a book where people loved it or hated it.  I loved going back into the magical world of Harry Potter!  It was wonderful to read up on the original characters and be introduced to new ones.  Scorpius Malfoy was one of my favorites.  I also enjoyed the play format.  I like reading books that are written in different styles.  This was probably my favorite read of the year!  I just love this world so much and was so excited to dive back into it!

A series that I really enjoyed this year was the Marked Men novels by Jay Crownover.  Last year, my friends went to a book signing and were introduced to Jay’s books.  They’ve been on me to read them for a year!  When I was recovering from my second surgery, I started reading the series and I am glad that I did.  The characters are all really likable, have interesting back stories, and I like how their lives all intertwine with each other-that way when you are done with one book, you still get to read about your favorite couples through the rest of the series.  I am glad I finally decided to read the series.

Another fun book thing I did this year was go to BookCon!  I had so much fun with my friends!  Meeting authors and talking to fellow book lovers was great!  Such an amazing experience!  I wish more book events happened where I lived.  They always seem to be so far away.  It was a great travel weekend!  My friends and I will have many good memories from BookCon-a top being meeting Cassandra Clare!

There are so many books out there and there will always be more.  Sometimes its hard to choose what to read next because the list is so long!  It’s fun getting suggestions from friends, seeing what other people like on social media, and just picking a book because the cover is pretty.  I am still so glad that two years ago, I brought reading back into my life!

Happy New Years everyone and may 2017 bring you many great reads!

 

Leave a Reply

