Stealing Snow by Danielle Paige Review

stealing snow

Lindsey's review

Back in May, when I went to BookCon, I was fortunate enough to receive an ARC of Stealing Snow by Danielle Paige.

This story is a take on the legend of the Snow Queen.  Snow has lived in an insane asylum for the majority of her life.  When she was younger she tried taking herself and a friend through a mirror into another world.

There is only one person she trusts, and loves, at the asylum: Bale.

Bale and Snow share a kiss, things go wrong, and he ends up breaking her wrist.  Snow blamed it on Bale’s meds.  Snow’s mom orders the doctors to keep the two away from each other.

One night, when Snow sneaks away to visit Bale, Bale is kidnapped through a mirror in his window.  Snow is really starting to think she belongs in the asylum.

Someone visits Snow in her dreams.  This someone convinces Snow to escape the asylum and help rescue Bale.  The next thing that Snow knows, is that she is in another world called Algid, she is the Snow Princess, and her father, the King, wants her dead.

Throughout the story Snow meets different people who tell her different parts of a prophecy.  She isn’t sure who to believe.  In the story she also learns how to use her power: manipulating snow and ice.

I did like the story.  I found myself needing to know what was going to happen next.  I wasn’t sure who Snow could trust and I didn’t know how she would be able to get out of certain situations.  There are quite a few twists in the story.  I was able to see one of them coming, but not the others.  I’m always very happy when a book can surprise me!  There is a big twist at the end where I feel sorry for Snow.  I’m not sure if I am surprised or not with her reaction.

One thing I didn’t like is the love interests. It wasn’t the characters that I didn’t like, it was the amount of love interests.  Snow starts off in love with Bale, after all that’s how she ends up in this other world, but ends up falling for two other boys in the story.  The second boy she knows all of two days before she falls for him.  I think this was all too quick and unnecessary.   Plenty of stories have love triangles where the reader finds his or herself rooting for a specific character, but in this case there is no time to develop a relationship just ‘oo you look nice, I think I love you.’

I also wish we could have exited the asylum a little sooner.  And sometimes I was a little irritated with Snow.  She just acts and doesn’t give time to think things through.  She also tends to get too swept away with male characters without knowing them, like I previously stated.  I also feel like Snow just all of the sudden got a grip on her powers.  There was some ‘training’, but I didn’t feel like there was enough for Snow to have been able to deal with certain situations in the story. Maybe this is where we could have exited the asylum sooner and used the space for training.

Otherwise I enjoyed the story and am curious to see how it will continue.  4/5 stars.

 

Leave a Reply

