Losing Hope

losing hopeLindsey's review

Losing Hope is a novel by Colleen Hoover.  It is the sequel to Hopeless.  Hopeless is a story about a girl named Sky who has been home schooled her whole life, but begs her mom to go to a real high school for her senior year.  She ends up meeting a boy named Holder and from that moment on her life gets turned upside down.

Losing Hope is Holder’s side of the story.

I enjoy Holder’s perspective on things better than I did Sky’s.  In Hopeless, Holder could sometimes seem like a real jerk, but with Losing Hope, you really get to the deeper meaning for why he acts the way that he does.

I loved the connection with Les in this book.  Les is/was Holder’s twin sister.  She committed suicide a year before Holder meets Sky. Holder finds a journal and even though he knows Les will never be able to read them, he writes letters to her.  I enjoyed this connection between them and being able to see Holder’s feelings and emotions this way.

In this book we get to find out the events right up to Les’ death and I like that we get to find out how Holder felt in those moments.

Two parts that I like the most, were a letter written to Holder and Holder’s final letter to Les.  Without saying to much, I’ll just say that the letter written to Holder tore at my heart and Holder’s final letter was a nice way of knowing that he and Sky and everyone will be ok.

I enjoyed this book more than Hopeless.  I give it 4/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

