Harry Potter and The Cursed Child

Another Harry Potter book!! We are so close to the release! Who is as excited as I am? Have you preordered a copy? Are you going to any release parties? A while back, Target was having a buy 2 get one free book sale online.  I was able to preorder this book and when it all came down to it, I’ll be getting the book for about 10 dollars! Super excited about the price!

Do you remember the first time you were introduced to Harry Potter?  I was in fifth grade.  My school was having a scholastic book fair.  I went with my mom and a friend.  Along with some other things we picked up a copy of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone.  In the mornings before the school bus came my mom would read aloud to my third grade brother and me.  He lost interest quick saying it was weird how a cat could turn into a lady.  I lost interest not long after him and my mom ended up reading the book to herself.

The next time I came across Mr. Potter was in 2001 when the first movie came out.  I love the movie!  I was excited for the next movie, but still did not pick up the books.

When the fifth movie came out and the seventh and final book was near I was volunteering at my local library helping out with the summer reading program.  I would help families when they came to the table to sign up and get their weekly prizes, but when there weren’t any families I had a lot of time on my hands.  I was in a library, so I thought ‘Why not? I’ll start reading the Harry Potter books and then in three weeks I was through the series.  Had me thinking ‘Why didn’t I read these sooner?’  The best part about it was that I could read the series all at once! In the last few books I took notes, so I would be able to compare them to the movies.  I don’t know when I would have read the series if it wasn’t for my time at the library.

When The Tales of Beedle the Bard came out I bought that one right away.  I found a box set, books 1-6 at goodwill for $7 and I bought Deathly Hallows at a half price books for $4.  I got the stories Quidditch Through the Ages and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them for my birthday.  I can’t wait to add this next book to my collection! The mail better bring it on time!

I was 13 when the first movie came out.  I loved Tom Felton as Draco Malfoy!  Reading through the books and the rest of the movies made me sad to realize my bad boy wasn’t a bad boy, just a scared boy who was mean who thought that he was all tough and bad.  What characters do you love? I was heartbroken when we lost Dobby! 😥 Such a great elf! I like Ron too.  A great, funny, and awkward fellow.  Hagrid, Hedwig, Tonks, Luna, so many fun characters throughout the series!  I can’t wait to meet the new ones!

Do you collect Harry Potter swag? I love getting the Funko pops! With that being said I am so super excited for the mystery minis that come out in a few days!!  Back in the day when they made 20 questions, they had a Harry Potter version.  I believe I received that as a birthday gift.  I love how it is shaped like a snitch.  I have a set of the HP postage stamps.  When nerdypost, a subscription box, had a HP theme, I got that too.  And don’t forget the HP movies!  My friends and I had a marathon leading up to the last movie and that was a lot of fun!  You can never go wrong with Harry Potter!

Talk with me in the comments below: are you looking forward to The Cursed child?  What HP memories do you have?  Have you been to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter?-I would love to go! Talk HP with me here or on my instagram-@escapeintobookworld.

Leave a Reply

