Fast Reader or Reading Slump?

Are you a fast reader? Does it take you a long time to get through a book?

Out of the book readers in my life, I am the slowest.  My mom, grandma, and friends can turn out book after book.  Don’t get me wrong, I love reading, but I have to be in the right reading mood.  My good months I read 4 to 5 books.  For me, this is great considering a year in a half ago my count was zero.

When I fall in love with a book I can whip through it.  Some examples of this are November 9 by Colleen Hoover and Walking Disaster by Jamie McGuire.  I love getting all the feels while reading and I love/hate the ones that make me cry.

When I get in a reading slump, man is it a slump!  If a book is not catching my interest it takes forever for me to finish it!  I don’t bother starting another book in its place until I am ready to pick it up again.  I don’t do this because the story turned me off from reading for awhile.  Also, if I am not in the right mood, I won’t pick up a book.  I had to have emergency surgery this summer and I was in bed a lot.  Now this gave me plenty of opportunity to read, but since I was already in bed for a good chunk of the day either in pain or sleeping the last thing I wanted to do was sit some more to read.  My favorite thing to do was listen to someone talk/having a conversation.  Work is another factor for me.  If I have a long day or a bad day, I usually just want to go home, change into comfy clothes, and watch some television.  My wake up time is 5 in the morning, so when I get home from work I don’t always have a lot of time, because I go to bed early, and sometimes I just need to relax.

Do you ever feel bad when you are in a reading slump?  I do.  I will have a hard time getting through 5 books when my friends are well in the double digits.  There is an abundance of books on my shelves that I am dying to read, so why am I taking so long to get through them??  What I do to make myself feel better about not reading for many days, is taking my book that I am currently reading and binge reading it in one day until it is done.  This usually takes place on a Saturday.  I’ll wake up and if I have nothing to do, I just sit on my bed and read through the book until it is done.  Afterwards I feel much better and accomplished.

Does this make sense? No.  A friend of mine, Katie, would write out what she wanted to read for the month and how many pages she would have to read a day.  I started to do that too. The pages I come up with per month is not outstanding, so it would only make sense if I stuck to my ‘schedule’.  I hate that I break from it each month.  When it gets closer to the end of the month I just feel bad.

So are you the type of reader who can read 20 books a month or are you like me and 5 books a month is a great number?  What tips do you have for when you are in a slump?  Please share 🙂

Leave a Reply

