The Last Star

Lindsey's review

I just wrapped up Rick Yancey’s 5th Wave series.  It wasn’t what I was expecting and that is neither a good or bad thing.

The Last Star wraps up Cassie’s journey and the battle against the Others.  When I finished The Infinite Sea I was under one impression with how the Others came to be and who they really were.  Now, I read book two back in January, so I know I don’t remember everything, but I do remember leaving the story confused.  Since I was under a certain impression, I was confused in this last book, because it contradicted what I thought was being said/explained in the last story.  For me, I just wish the idea of The Others was explained better.

In the first half of the book, Cassie really annoyed me.  To me, she acted like she was the only one whose life fell apart and the only one who had problems.  In my opinion she was being a whiny brat and not the strong Cassie I knew from before.  Once more serious stuff in the book starts to take place, I felt I got the real Cassie back.

Something happens to Ringer in the story, which I forgot this tidbit from book two, so I was like how could that happen haha, and I hate how so many stories, movies, and shows out there try to ‘solve’ troubles with this.

I do not fully understand Evan’s ending in the book.  I don’t want to spoil anything, so this is hard for me to say without giving anything away.  With that being said, I’ll just say, I don’t get Evan’s last stand and then his last moments in the book.  I don’t get why his character said goodbye this way.  Once you read the story, I hope you understand more of what I am trying to say.

I did not expect the battle to end how it did. I appreciated that, because as I said before, I prefer unexpected endings.  I did not particularly like the whole wrap up of the story.  It wasn’t great, it wasn’t horrible.  I just think there could have been more with the ending.  I believe I understand why it ended how it did, because of the situation all the main characters are in.  But, with the ending that was given, if Yancey really wanted to, he could continue or write extensions off the story and I just wanted something more final.

I like The 5th Wave the best, than The Last Star, and lastly The Infinite Sea.  I hope you can kind of understand my crazy explanations, but sometimes it is just hard when trying not to spoil anything for you guys!

Side note-did any of you see The 5th Wave movie? I thought it was pretty good and a pretty good fit with the story.  I watched it with my mom once the dvd was out and she didn’t like it at all.  If you saw it, did you read the book first?  If you saw it and didn’t read the book what did you think?

Leave a Reply

