The Problem With, the book, Forever

My friends love Jennifer Armentrout.  I have met the woman and she is awesome, but I have yet to fall in love with a book she has written.  I have just finished my second book of hers, so its really not saying much, since she has a lot of stories under her belt.  I just really wanted to like her writing.  My friends always get so excited when they read her books and when a new book gets published and I want to share in that excitement with them, but I’ll get to that later.  First, my review of The Problem With Forever.

A quick summary: Mallory and Rider grow up together in an awful foster home.  Something bad happens and they get separated.  Four years later they meet up again.

The basis of a lot of stories is that there is a problem and throughout the story the characters try and work through it.  How the problem is worked through and what the problem actually is, is what makes each story unique.

I’m not sure if it was how the story was written or the story itself, but I just wasn’t wowed.  I am an emotional person/reader, so I thought I’d being feeling all sorts of emotions before diving into the book, but I didn’t.  I felt bad for what the characters had to endure, but I wasn’t pulled in to really feel their pain like in other stories I read.  I thought the story was a little slow moving.  Also, I was annoyed when the story kept going back to Riders girlfriend at the time and felt like that point was repetitive.  Sometimes I also felt like the way Mallory would talk/think when by herself wasn’t how she was with others-like she wasn’t the same character.

I enjoyed the connection to the story The Velveteen Rabbit.  The story was read to me as a child, but I never imagined the feeling it could bring out in someone like it did for Mallory and Rider.

I also really love Rider!  His character has been through the ringer and back, but no matter what, he always put others before himself.  He was the protector when he shouldn’t have had to be. He was kind, thoughtful, and just a damn good human being. The world could use a lot more like him!

So, basically, I guess I just didn’t jump head over heels for this story.  It was good for what it was, but I was hoping for more.  Wanted to really feel something with the characters versus just feeling bad for them.  I give the story a 3/5.

Now to my other point-book recommendations you don’t click with.  In 2015, when I first started truly reading again, the first book I read was Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire.  I loved Travis and enjoyed Walking Disaster even more.  I was excited to recommend the book to my friend.  She was already reading a lot more than me and I was happy to have something to suggest.  She read it, and hated it.  I was bummed.  I wanted to be able to talk more about the book with her, but I couldn’t.

My friends faces light up when they talk about JLA, so I was happy to give her a try.  This time, I’m the one not enjoying the story, but am again bummed that we can’t talk about the book.  The first book I read of hers was Cursed.  I had previously read the Shatter Me series and think the stories are similar.  I just like how the Shatter Me Series is written better.

There will always be stories that you like better than someone else and then there will be stories that you will fangirl over together.  The series that my friends and I really love, that we could spend hours talking about, is all of the Shadowhunter series by Cassandra Clare.

Are there book recommendations that you get from your friends that you end up not enjoying or vice versa? Do you really hope that you are going to like the book because they do? Or do you just completely read different authors and genres? What books have you and your friends both really enjoyed?

Please share your thoughts/experiences below!  Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

