Illuminae and Other News

So guys…I have been MIA for a long time.  I started writing up my adventure at BookCon and then it got really late, so I told myself I would finish it the next day, but I never came back.  That was the middle of May.

After BookCon I was in a reading slump: weird right? You would think I would have been intrigued to read, read, read, after that.

Then after Memorial Day, I had intense stomach pain, went to the emergency room, and found out I needed emergency surgery.  When I got home from the hospital I was certainly in no mood to read.  Beside sleep, the only thing that was entertaining to me was someone sitting with me and talking/me listening to them talk.

Tomorrow I will be entering my fourth week of recovery.  I am doing a million times better, but still have a ways to go.  Through this time I realized how lucky I am: just to be able to walk, sit down and get up, take care of myself-don’t take those little things for granted!!

About a week ago, I really wanted to dive back into reading!  I just had to know what happened in A Court of Mist and Fury.  I finished that five days ago and now have also completed All The Bright Places and today, Illuminae.  I’m not sure if I’ll go back on here to write reviews for the other two, but if I don’t you can find my reviews on my GoodReads account.

For now here is my Illuminae review: no spoilers here.  I thought it would be fun to write the review in a way that goes with the story. 🙂

MEMORANDUM FOR: Book Lovers

FROM: escapeintobookworld

INCEPT: 06/20/16

SUBJECT: Illuminae Review

Today I finished reading the book Illuminae.  At first I found it a bit confusing and wasn’t really sure what was going on, but then the story started to pick up and I really enjoyed it.  I wasn’t sure I would like this story-not because of how it was written.  I love how it is written in files and other writing techniques-I’ve read stuff like that before.  I wasn’t sure because of the sci-fi feel.  That’s really not my thing and I wasn’t sure what to expect.

With all the different interviews and other communications going on I thought the story was going to be all over the place, so I was glad to be able to focus on two characters for most of the time-Kady and Ezra.  I enjoyed trying to figure out what would happen to the fleets, if they ever would make it to safety, would Kady and Ezra ever be reunited, and much more.  There were twists and turns that I did not see coming.  The ending IM conversation with a certain executive director left me a little confused again, so I did not like ending on that note.

I was very fortunate to receive Gemina at BookCon, so I do not have to wait until October to find out what happens next.

I give Illuminae 4/5 stars.  Enjoy Book Lovers! Put it on your reading list before AIDAN gets to you!

-escapeintobookworld

Leave a Reply

