Cold Fury Hockey Series by Sawyer Bennett

I love reading young adult romance novels as well as hockey novels so therefore this was right up my alley! I’ve had this series on my TBR list for a while now and have been quite anxious to start it. I’m a little sad that this series isn’t available in print, because I would definitely buy them, but I’ll just have to settle for having them on my kindle.

Alex

Alex

Alex is definitely not your typical main character. He’s not a nice guy and he knows it, he just doesn’t care what people think about him as long as he can do what he wants when he wants. Therefore it took me a while to actually start enjoying his character and reading his perspectives. Luckily it didn’t take long for that to change. After a while, because of certain events, he becomes a nicer guy and slowly realizes that he can’t keep acting the way he does. I did get frustrated with him at times though. He is not one to share and talk about his life, causing problems with others, especially Sutton, down the line and therefore making me mad at him at points. Both Alex and Sutton have quite a rough past that has helped shape them into who they are today. It was very interesting to read how they both handled it seeing as they went through some similar situations in their lives. The ending was absolutely adorable =) I thought it was funny and cute, and overall a perfect ending for them. I’d give it 4 out of 5 stars.

Garrett

Garrett

I’m not sure if I like this one more or less than Alex. I may be leaning towards Alex just a tad more, but they are pretty close in my opinion. Garrett reminds me of Dean from The Score by Elle Kennedy, but I like Dean a tad bit more, but I do really like Garrett. I loved his perspectives, they were always a hoot and he did surprise me a few times by things that he did and said. I liked Olivia as well, but definitely not as much as Garrett. She got a tad frustrating at points, but luckily it wasn’t that often. It was sad reading from her perspective at some points because of the obvious reason that you find out about pretty quickly. There is one particular part of the book that was really sad and I didn’t really see it coming, but thinking about it afterwards I probably should have expected something like that to happen. I was bummed that this specific thing had to happen, but I understand why it had to happen. I think there could have been a little bit more to the storyline though. The general storyline was a little too close to Alex, minus the one major difference between Sutton and Olivia. Its similar in the sense that they’re both guy meets girl, girl changes guy, someone does something stupid to screw the relationship up. I was quite surprised to see that the epilogue is really far in the future, but at the same time I understand why that is. I did really enjoy the epilogue though because of that. I get frustrated when books just sort of end, so with this being really far in the future I got a bit more of a wrap-up than what I normally do in other books that I read, so I was very pleased with that. I would also give this a 4 out of 5 stars.

Zack

Zack

I was definitely interested in seeing how this book was going to go based on what happens in Garrett. I didn’t know how I would feel about the main storyline at first, but I really, really liked it. We knew a little bit about Zack from the previous books, but not a whole lot, but I knew I liked his character already just from what we got in those books. I love Zack after reading his whole book. He’s such an interesting character and funny just like the others. He doesn’t always make the best decisions, but he’s entertaining while he’s struggling with his thoughts. Ben is just completely adorable! He is so cute and I love how he basically loves Kate right away. Zack is a great father and I loved reading about him with Ben, it made me like Zack that much more. It added nicely to the storyline by having Zack have a son. It made it different from the other 2 books and more interesting. I was unsure about Kate at first, but she got more interesting as I kept reading. She’s a bit nerdy and quirky at times, but it was entertaining. I love how she almost always has a positive attitude even when things aren’t always going smoothly for her. Neither Zack nor Kate has had the easiest life, but they complement and fit each other very well. The epilogue was really cute and I loved it =) I’d give this one a 4.5 out of 5 stars.

 Ryker

Ryker

This one is definitely my favorite of the series and that is all because of Ryker. I absolutely loved his character and reading from his perspective. He’s a little bit different from the other 3 and I loved that about him. Because he is a little bit older than the other 3 guys, he’s a bit more mature which makes him more likable in my opinion. He’s really quite cute with his daughters, I loved reading all of their interactions. I love how protective he is of the people that he cares about and will do just about anything to defend them and keep them safe and happy. I think I like a few of the other main girls more than Gray, but I still really enjoyed reading from her perspective. Plus it’s different than the others seeing as she’s the GM of the team. It allowed for us to see a different side of the team/series so it was really interesting to read and learn more about what she has to do on a daily basis. I loved the storyline of this one, especially since it was very different than the other 3 books in the series. I love getting the little bits here and there of Alex, Garrett, and Zack. The Zack stuff in particular in this book was very entertaining and really cute! Loved this book, especially the last 50 pages or so. I’d give it 5 out of 5 stars =D

Hawke

Hawke

This is my least favorite of the series, but I still enjoyed it. I feel like this book just had a little bit of a different feel to it than the other books. For some reason I don’t like when people have a long history, like in this book where they dated 7 years ago and haven’t seen each other since. I think it just has to do with the fact that I don’t know everything up front and that it takes a long time to find out everything about their past. Luckily there are only a few flashbacks in this book, which made me happy since I am not a huge fan of flashbacks. I liked Hawke, but not as much as the other 4 guys. He’s still entertaining, but I just didn’t like him as much for some reason. The same can be said for Vale and the other girls. I loved the epilogue once again though. I love how the past characters always pop up more in the epilogues. I love finding out more about the previous 4 couples, but unfortunately there wasn’t as much of that in this book so maybe that’s another reason why I didn’t like it quite as much. I’d give it a 4 out of 5 stars.

I’m really loving this series so far and I hope it still continues for a while yet. Max is set to be released on December 13th, I already have it pre-ordered, and I’m really looking forward to it! Max has at least been mentioned in all of the books so far, and even though we don’t know a whole lot about him I still really like his character and I think it’ll be a really good and entertaining book like the rest of them =) I’d definitely recommend this series to those who like young adult romance novels as well as hockey novels.

-Katie

Leave a Reply

