Lady Midnight Review

It’s finally here!!! It felt like I had to wait forever to read this book; I literally already had it pre-ordered in July and could not wait for it to be released! It was definitely worth the wait though.

This is just another Cassandra Clare book that I love! I mean how can you not? She knows how to write lovable, entertaining, and exciting characters that you get so invested with and you can’t wait to learn what is going to happen to them next. Plus she knows how to write books that you don’t want to put down.You’ll just want to keep chugging along until the end and then you’re sad cause it’s over. But anyways enough of my rambling and on to the actual review of the book. This book is a little slow for a while, but that’s completely understandable. It’s taking place in a new city, Los Angeles, with characters that we have briefly met in the past and so it is going to be a little slow seeing as this is now 5 years since the last time we read about these characters. We have to learn about their lives now and how the Shadowhunter world is at the L.A. Institute and that takes some time. On a side note, I can finally name all of the Blackthorn children in age order after this book, that is something  struggled with when they were mentioned in The Mortal Instruments. I really enjoyed reading about these characters. In my opinion Emma is a cross between Jace and Will, but she is probably a little more Jace like. There is one thing in particular that she does that is very Will-esk however. I absolutely love Julian! He is a wonderful character and I loved getting to read from his perspective and learning how he handles all the obstacles in his life. I feel bad for him many times throughout the book. In my opinion out of all the characters in the Shadowhunter world so far, he has the roughest life. I mean he had to start raising his 4 younger siblings when he was 12 years old for crying out loud! I liked learning more about Mark as well. He hasn’t had an easy life either, so it’s interesting to read about what he has been through and how the Wild Hunt has changed him. I loved all the times when old Shadowhunter characters were there with them. There were some plot twists that I definitely didn’t see coming throughout the book, which made it that much more interesting. I usually can see things coming ahead of time, but Cassandra Clare knows how to surprise me. The ending gets really intense and I love it! I finally got two particular questions about the Shadowhunter world answered and I’m glad that I now have answers to them. I’d give this book a 4.5 out of 5 stars. There was one particular storyline that I wasn’t particularly pleased to see it go the way that it did, but I completely understand why it has to be that way. I’m so sad that I now have to wait more than a year to read the next book =( I was lucky for both The Infernal Devices and The Mortal Instruments because when I read them all 9 books were already out so I didn’t have to wait to find out where the story was going to lead. I’ve become really invested in the characters now, even after only one full book, and I really need to know what is going to happen to them next!

-Katie

Lady Midnight

4.5 Stars

It took me a long time, but I just finished Lady Midnight last night. The beginning of the book took a little bit to get going for me, but I have noticed that her first book in each series takes me a little bit to get going. We did have a nice background of the Blackthorns and Emma going in so that helped, it was more about learning about how they have grown and changed since we left them in City of Heavenly Fire. I have grown to really like these characters and I love Emma and Julian and I am shipping them so hard! About 200 pages in the story really started to pick up once their investigation into the deaths really started going and we got to learn more about Mark. There were many times that something was referenced from a past book or a question I have long had that was answered and I got excited while reading. The storyline was fantastic! I loved the flow and all the surprises I did not see coming! I can not wait for the next book to learn more about a few secrets people have and I really want to know what is going to happen with Emma and Julian. I have a feeling this next book is going to be very hard for them. I loved the short story in the back updating us on our favorite characters from The Mortal Instruments, and we were still left wondering what was going to happen to them!  I have come to have a high expectation for Cassandra Clare and Lady Midnight lived up to every single one! I waited a little over a year from when I first finished TID and TMI and this book was worth the wait!

-Amanda

Leave a Reply

