The McGregor Standalones by Karina Halle

I recently read the McGregor books by Karina Halle and would definitely recommend them. These books are considered standalones (besides the Winter Wishes novella) and don’t have to be read in the publishing order. There is some crossover from book to book, but not so much that they have to all be read or read in this order. I had heard of these books before, but didn’t know much about them. Amanda suggested I read these books, and I have enjoyed all of the books she has suggested so far, so I decided to give them a shot =)

The Pact

I really enjoyed The Pact. I think it is probably my favorite out of all of them, a big reason being Linden McGregor. I loved Linden’s character, he was very entertaining and I enjoyed reading about his life and what he felt throughout the years after the pact was made, so I particularly liked reading the chapters from his perspective. I love when books are from multiple characters perspectives and you get to learn what’s going on in both character’s heads. Stephanie’s chapters are also entertaining. Stephanie likes to speak her mind and that makes for a good and funny read. It’s not an easy journey for either Stephanie and Linden throughout the book. They have many obstacles that they need to overcome to get where they find out they want to be. I absolutely loved the end of the book. It was so adorable and made me very happy. I’d give this book a 4 out of 5 stars. There were just a few things that I didn’t completely agree with and like, but other than that I really enjoyed this book, especially the Friends reference that is made as well as the San Jose Sharks =D

The Offer

The Offer was another enjoyable read. Nicola is another enjoyable character to read about and I absolutely love her daughter Ava, she’s adorable. Many of the books that I read don’t have single parents who are still quite young, so it was nice that this book was different. Bram is an interesting character for sure. I wasn’t always sure how to feel about him, but there are many different sides to him many people don’t know about, so it was nice to be able to slowly uncover those sides of him throughout the book. I would have liked more chapters from his perspective to get an even better feel of his character and see more of what’s going on in his head. There’s a twist near the end that I wasn’t expecting so I liked that. I would have liked a little more of an epilogue though. I would also give this a 4 out of 5 stars, but not quite as good as The Pact.
The Play

The Play has a little bit of a different feel to it than The Pact and The Offer. It has a little bit more of a darker side to it, as well as having some sad storylines. I love Lachlan’s character, maybe not quite as much as Linden, but close. He is a very intense character and has such an interesting, yet sad, backstory that we slowly get to learn about throughout the book. I loved learning about his life and how he became who he is today. I love dogs, so therefore I love all of the dogs in this book and how involved Lachlan is with them. Kayla is another entertaining character. She also likes to speak her mind and that leads to some very funny conversations. Their relationship is not your typical relationship which makes it more interesting to read since I really didn’t know what to expect. I loved reading about how their relationship progressed throughout the book. The epilogue once again was absolutely adorable and I loved it. I would also give this 4 out of 5 stars.

Winter Wishes

Winter Wishes is a novella about Lachlan and Kayla and takes place in before the epilogue of The Play. Since the epilogue takes place nine months later, it was nice to have a little story in between. It was a cute and funny read and I loved the new “friend” that was introduced. This also gives you a little more on Brigs, who is the main male character in The Lie. Once again this one gets a 4 out of 5 for me.

 

The Lie

For some reason The Lie was harder for me to get into. I think it was just something about the storyline itself that made me not like it as much. I liked learning more about Brigs since you find out his tragic backstory in The Play, but in here you get to learn exactly what went down and why. Natasha is probably one of my least favorite characters out of the bunch. I’m not saying I don’t like her, she just wasn’t as interesting to read about in my opinion. I wasn’t always a fan of the back and forth with the 4 years ago and present day stuff. I understand that it’s important to know what went down in the past to make the characters who they are now, but I didn’t always like it. I still liked this book, but I would only give it a 3.5 out of 5 stars.

I still highly recommend this series to those who enjoy romance novels. Karina Halle does an excellent job writing her characters, and I love that all the main male characters are Scottish by the way. They all have interesting backstories and I loved getting to learn about all of them. I’m looking forward to the upcoming novella, Before the Dawn, and the upcoming novel, The Debt.

Katie =)

Leave a Reply

