I Was Here

Work on Friday was fun, but tiring, because it was our 100th day of school and we had a fun celebration.  After work I went home, relaxed for a bit and then had dinner.  The night before I had finished Passenger by Alexandra Bracken.  I was in need of a new read.  I was going to start Glass Sword, but I also recently bought I Was Here.  I Was Here by Gayle Forman is 270 pages, so I decided to read the book, so I could finish it that night.

I Was Here is about a girl named Cody who loses her friend Meg due to suicide.  She feels guilty and goes on a journey trying to figure out why her friend took her life.

Cody and Meg have been best friends since kindergarten.  They share and do everything together.  Meg eventually goes off to college on a full scholarship and Cody stays in their local town.  Cody is saving up money to soon join Meg in Seattle.

Cody and Meg start to lose touch as they live their separate lives.  Cody appears to be jealous of Meg-Meg got out of the run down town and is amounting to better things while Cody is still at home cleaning houses.  Cody starts to lose touch with Meg.

When Cody finds out about Meg’s death she feels extremely guilty.  How could she not know her best friend was feeling this way?  I couldn’t imagine this happening to one of my best friends!  I would hope they would feel comfortable enough to talk to me or that I would be able to notice something was off.  This is what Cody struggles with.

Cody takes the bus to Meg’s apartment to collect her things and bring them home to her parents.  While there, Cody searches Meg’s computer and comes across a guy named Ben.  She comforts Ben and starts to blame him for Meg’s death.  After awhile, Cody and Ben work together in trying to solve the mystery of Meg’s suicide.

I’ll stop here before I give too much away.  I don’t want to ruin the story for you.  This book made me sad.  I would hate to feel all the emotions that Cody and Ben deal with, with the loss of their friend.  Suicide is unfortunately a bigger issue these days.  People are getting bullied, feeling depressed, stressed out, and so many other factors that come into play.  This book made me realize not to take anything for granted.  You never know how much time you have with someone.  Make sure those around you know that you love and care for them.

I enjoyed joining Cody on her journey.  She still cared so much for her friend after death.  Cody defends her til the end and made sure she understood-as much as there is to understand in this situation-what her friend was going through.

I have also read If I Stay and Where She Went by Gayle Forman and out of three this one has been my favorite.  I give it 4 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

